Gambia Flag Home Page
Home Page    
Local District & Area Councils in Gambia
 Yellow Pages    Government    Public Bodies

  Banjul City Council (BCC)
Independence Drive

  Brikama Area Council (BAC)
Opposite Brikama Market, West Coast Region

  Kanifing Municipal Council (KMC)
Serrekunda Highway, Ksmd, Western Region

Local government in The Gambia varies. The capital city, Banjul and the much larger Kanifing Municipality have elected town and municipal councils. The country, excluding Banjul, is split into five rural administrative regions exist, each with a council (set up in 1962) containing a majority of elected members. Each council has its own treasury and is responsible for local government services. Tribal chiefs retain traditional powers authorized by customary law in some instances.

The regions are They are the Western, Lower River, North Bank, Central River and the Upper River.


Above you will find each institutions' background information, contact addresses, telephone numbers, some emails, websites, faxes & main locations in the Greater Banjul area of the western coast region of The Gambia, West Africa.

Top of Page
Home  |  Disclaimer & Legal Notices | Contact |  Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2009  Access Gambia  All Rights Reserved.